What Retrofits Are Required by Law?

By Home Bay

Posted on November 11th, 2014

Most cities and counties require that a property be in compliance with updated Health & Safety and Water Conservation standards in order to close escrow. The upgrades needed to satisfy the city or county standards are known as "retrofits" and are typically paid for by the seller.

Smoke Detector

Retrofitting requirements vary by state and county, but typically include:

Less common retrofitting requirements include:

  • low-flow toilets and shower heads
  • Seismic gas shutoff valves ("earthquake valves") and tempered glass on sliding doors in earthquake prone areas

Retrofitting requirements change often, so it's best to call your town or city building department and ask what retrofitting will be required when you sell. Local property inspectors are also a great source of knowledge and are typically up-to-date on city and state requirements.

Interested in buying or selling?

We've improved the traditional real estate model with modern technology to cut costs, not quality.

Get started today

Posted in Escrow