What's a Natural Hazard Disclosure Report?

By Home Bay

Posted on November 8th, 2014

This post is California specific. Almost all offers in California will require that you provide a natural hazard disclosure report. This post will explain what a Natural Hazard Disclosure Report is, what it covers and how it impacts your home sale.

What's a Natural Hazard Disclosure Report?

This report, which is mandated by California state law, tells the buyer if your home lies within a zone containing any one of six types of hazards.

These include:

  • A Special Flood Hazard Area
  • Dam Inundation
  • Very High Fire
  • Wildland fire
  • Earthquake fault zone
  • Seismic hazard

It's a straightforward one-page form, containing several yes or no questions about your property. On the disclosure form, you must indicate whether or not each threat applies to your property. The form costs approximately $125, a fee that's usually paid by the seller at the close of escrow.

Supplemental Hazards are also commonly reported in the same report.

These include:

  1. Radon Gas exposure
  2. Airport influence area
  3. Megan's Law disclosures
  4. Military ordinance

Have questions about this report? Ask us!

Interested in buying or selling?

We've improved the traditional real estate model with modern technology to cut costs, not quality.

Get started today

Posted in